Local News Only.com
"Only Local News All the Time"

Local Events




by:  Kimberly Connor


Dateline: Colleyville - October 9, 2001 4:55 PM

The Arts League held their annual Shining Star Luncheon on Wednesday, October 3 at the Las Colinas Four Seasons Hotel. The event began at 10:30 AM with a silent auction that ran until noon.  


The Master of Ceremonies was Scott Murray, Sports Director/Anchor at NBC5.  Mr. Murray held the live auction and then introduced Texas songwriter, Tom Faulkner, who preformed several songs for the attendees.


The guest speaker for the event was Gail Sachson, founder and owner of Ask Me About Art located in Dallas, Texas.


After Ms. Sachson's speach, the honorees were recongized and presented with their award especially created by David Gappa.


The purpose of the luncheon was to honor outstanding women and women's organizations in the Northeast Tarrant County area.  To see the Arts League October calendar, click here.

Shining Stars 2000

Karen Bird, Open Arms Home
Era Lee Caldwell, Greater Southlake Women's Society
Janie Casey, Keller Chamber of Commerce
Beverly Davidson, Kappa PSI Kappa Alumni Chapter of Alpha CHI Omega
Shirley Gailey, Meroport Meals On Wheels
Emily Galpin, Keep Southlake Beautiful
Cathy Gordon, Mid Cities SOS
Pat Hansen, Mid Cities Women's & Newcombers Club
Colleen Hess, Tuesday Study Club
Lynn Jumper, Northeast Tarrant Tennis
Barbara Kilgore, Southlake Business Women
Becky Lane, Circle of Friends
Kathy Leone, Colleyville Women's Club
Christy Martin, Colleyville Parks & Recreation
Dolores McHargue, Dillettantes
Carmen Mers, National Charity League-Southlake
Virginia Muzyka, Southlake Newcomers Club
Connie Nichols, The Arts League
Dr. Edith M. Pewitt, The Grapevine Garden Club
Polly Post, Northwest Tarrant County Branch A.A.U.W.
Trish Murphy Rae, Christmas Is For Children
Brenda Ritz, Harris Methodist HEB Hospital Event Board
Robin Snyder, Southlake Women's Club Inc.
Lynda Stickney, Metro Hurst Business & Professional Women

The Luncheon Chair and Co-Chair this year 
were Trish Wilson and Jane Garrison. 

The Arts League Board for 2001 is:

President - Colleen Meadows
1st Vice Presidents - Trish Wilson and Jane Garrison
2nd Vice Presidents - Jane Schultz, Barbie Derby and Jill Danahey
3rd Vice President - Cathy Fryer
Treasurer - Lynda Railsback
Recording Secretary - Joslyn Marksbury
Corresponding Secretary - Joslyn Marksbury
Parliamentarian - Sandra Durbin
Past President - Connie Nichols
Publicity - Kris Lindsay
Tea Chairmen - Karen Parsinen, Ginny Tigue
Newsletter -  Suzanne Harrington
Volunteers - Bonnie Kurtz
Hospitality - Leah Shaver, Pam Steadman


Shining Stars 2001 Awards Luncheon Committee

Chairman - Trish Wilson
Co-Chairman - Jane Garrison
Clubs - Carol Cage, Sandy Premer
Silent Auction - Chair - Connie Nichols, Linda McNeely, Betsy Milligan, Trish Wilson and Sandra Durbin
Awards - Jill Kralicke, Trish Wilson
Decorations - Cathy Fryer, Pam Steadman
Entertainment - Colleen Meadows, Trish Wilson



Comments will be posted on Editor Emails unless otherwise requested.